Posted by: grasshopperme | May 8, 2012

For As Long As We Have Voices

“In the end, though, maybe we must all give up trying to pay back the people in this world who sustain our lives. In the end, maybe it’s wiser to surrender before the miraculous scope of human generosity and to just keep saying thank you, forever and sincerely, for as long as we have voices.”
―Elizabeth Gilbert

Tomorrow is an anniversary for me. A “re-birthday” as I have come to call it. May 8, 2006 I entered a hospital in South San Francisco to undergo a Roux-en-Y gastric bypass (the background story is here on this blog for anyone who cares to read it). But in the six years since that date, I have come to see this day as one I set aside to reflect and appreciate the people and circumstances that have helped propel this journey, and a reminder to never be lax in expressing the gratitude for the support and guidance I have been shown along the way.

The twelve months since my last re-birthday have been full in many ways. Full of adventures, full of challenges, the strengthening of new friendships, and the reassessment of longtime ones, new goals to achieve, old demons to battle, and (in the last 30 days) the start of a whole new life-chapter brought about by the end of my marriage. This is not somewhere I would’ve predicted I would be this time last year, but at the same time I know in my mind (and am starting to feel with my heart) there is no other place I should be.

To my family (Mom 1, Mom 2, Jon, Cathy and the kidlets) I want to extend my thanks for being my under acknowledged life preservers. Much as I try to not have to reach out and depend on you, it brings me comfort to know that, if I had to crash-land as I fly by the seat of my pants, you are right underneath me at all times—and double as flotation devices. Love you!

To my extended family and friends, particularly those I am lucky enough to see daily at work, your interest and encouragement (and in at least a couple of instances INVOLVEMENT) in the fitness endeavors I have taken on this year is more appreciated than you can know. I have not begun to get comfortable with your compliments and praises, but know that I do take them to heart and use them to motivate me when I try new things. I hope the children we are surrounded by everyday can use my activities as positive examples in their lives the way your interactions with them in the classroom and on the playground already impact them every minute of the day. You are heroes!

This year I want to send a special “shout out” to the community of Team Tough Chik for living true to the credo that “whether you podium or persevere, all that matters is that you are out there doing what YOU love to do.” Being involved in a group of active women who are so genuinely supportive of each other is amazing and I feel honored to be among you. For fellow Tough Chik teammate and now dear friend Amy: THANK YOU for making the things I knew I loved to do (and even the stuff I don’t love so much) much more fun just by your presence and attitude. Who knew being tough could be so funny??

Last, because he could never be least, another year’s worth of debt to Master Trainer Will. I always send him a personal note on this day to express how much his continued support and guidance means to me in my life, but I also want to state very publicly it is your unfailing friendship that is the greatest gift to me over these many years and the one for which I will “just keep saying thank you, forever and sincerely…”

for as long as I have a voice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

