Posted by: grasshopperme | April 6, 2013

Bouillon de Culture

I’m going to depart from my usual topics tonight. No recounts of races. No griping about running. Because 1. I’ve done none of either recently, and 2. It’s my blog and I don’t want to.

Thanks to my local cable provider’s free “watch-a-thon” event this past weekend, I had ample time to indulge in all the guilty trash episodic television I often bypass in favor of gym visits and early bedtimes during training periods. Thanks to this last minute programming discovery, I was not only able to erase my frustration that, (at least in my local market) The Office and Glee share a time slot, and I must choose which one to watch, but I also (finally) managed to watch EVERY minute of Downton Abbey from the beginning. Not a monumental accomplishment, by most standards, I will admit. But to this long addicted lover of all things serial and soapy, dating back to grade school days when Luke and Laura were “dating”, it was glorious!

During a respite from the saga of British aristocracy in the Great War, I also caught a personal fave of mine, Tina Fey, appearing on Inside the Actor’s Studio. While she was witty and quick as ever, I remembered what I enjoy most about that show is the last few minutes before the host turns the guest over to the students for the Q&A period. James Lipton (in a blatant & credited rip off of Bernard Pivot) asks every guest the same 10 questions and every time I watch it, I think about what my answers would be.

I will never be sitting at Pace University addressing the Studio, but I do have this “stage” and no producer to stop me. Here goes….feel free to play along if you know it:

1. What is your favorite word? Persevere It is a strong word that implies a sustained power of effort. Not just try, as in “I will try” or “I tried” which are more indicative of a single attempt…but rather a word that reflects enough ongoing fortitude to pick your ass back up and move on.

2. What is your least favorite word? Inappropriate In too many instances in my life this word has been used by others to pass judgment in an oh-s0-civil yet condescending way designed to change something in me of which they disapproved when their opinion wasn’t solicited: “Are you sure your friendship with him isn’t kind of inappropriate?”

3. What turns you on? Success in any form, when achieved honestly.

4. What turns you off? Cruelty in any form, for any reason.

5. What is your favorite curse word? Crap I know, not scandalous, but so versatile. Noun, verb, adjective, exclamation, even a gerund if you’re being creative 🙂

6. What sound or noise to do love? A deep, rich country voice Jason Michael Carroll, Chris Young….if I’m not ringing any bells with you then for the love of God get on You Tube and see what you’re missin’

7. What sound or noise do you hate? Screeching brakes Nothing good ever comes after that…

8. What profession, other than your own, would you like to attempt? Sport/Fitness Psychologist particularly among women as it relates to choosing (and staying) on a path of fitness and health, and issues of body and self-image related to achieving and sustaining major weight loss.

9. What profession would you not want to attempt? Anything that involves an assembly line or wearing high heels.

10. If Heaven exists, what do want to hear God say as you enter the Pearly Gates? You’re in the right place. Grandpa has the game on, Grandma has spaghetti on the stove, and all my dogs are ready to hit the trails.

Leave a Reply

Categories

